Curried Split Pea Soup

Legumes, which include beans, peas, and lentils, are high in fiber and protein. Legumes alone, however, do not contain all the needed protein, but paired with grains they make a balanced protein diet. That’s why you often see vegetarians pair beans with rice.

When I thought of beans and legumes, I always pictured the beans of the canned or dried variety. Black beans, kidney beans, red beans, green beans…ehh I didn’t like beans enough to want to routinely incorporate them into my diet. I rarely did. In an effort to eat healthier, I’ve been learning more about food. So it wasn’t until recently that I learned that beans are a part of legumes, not that they are 2 different categories. Then there are the “duh, why didn’t I realize that?” legumes that I do like and eat. String beans, soymilk (made from soy beans), hummus (made from garbanzo beans, which are also called chickpeas) and peas.

Whew, enough of my rambling. Here is split pea soup! Curried.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
  • 12 ounces dried green or yellow split peas, picked over and rinsed
  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder

Directions

Place the butter into a large (4 to 6-quart) saucepan over medium-low heat. Once melted, add the chopped onion and a generous pinch of salt. Sweat for 2 to 3 minutes. Add the garlic and continue to sweat for an additional 1 to 2 minutes, making certain not to allow onions or garlic to brown.

Add the peas, chicken broth and curry powder. Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook at a simmer until the peas are tender and not holding their shape any longer, approximately 45 to 50 minutes. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed. Using care and a stick blender, puree the soup until the desired consistency. Watch out for hot splatters.

OK, not the most attractive picture. Mushy and lumpy, I skipped the last step. Gives it more bite. I like peas. I like onions. I like curry. I will definitely make this again.

*Recipe from Food Network, Good Eats.

Leave a Reply

