Lost Wax Casting

Quick and dirty recap of my day: Dragged myself out of bed around 9:12 am. Made it to my 10-11:40 am class with a few minutes to spare. Scarfed down a granola bar on my way to volunteer from 12-2:30pm. Another quick bite and then class from 3-9pm. Lost wax casting class. It was awesome.

I was engrossed; I didn’t even stop to eat. Ok, what is lost wax casting? Well let me tell you, better yet watch this video here – this is the best and shortest one I could find. Lost wax casting is a process where a metal – gold, silver, copper, bronze, and etc, is cast from a mold made from a wax model. Going in with no experience, it was overwhelming at first. There’s all these terms, materials, and machines. Sprues, different waxes, gauges, mixing investment, soldering, the vacuum machine, the kiln, the centrifugal casting machine…wahhh.

The class I am taking focuses more on jewelry. Last week when I signed up for the class, I wasn’t expecting to be able to make anything too detailed or intricate. Actually we can do some pretty nifty things, even going in with zero experience. Anyway, our teacher let our class do our own thing for a good 4 hours while feeding us other tidbits of information and techniques. We mainly worked on wax molds tonight. I made 7 ring molds and sprued down 4. I brought 2 home so I could glue something on, maybe fabric or beads to give the ring an interesting texture. I’ve got a bundle of ideas spinning around in my mind now. I want to make a ring with a message on the inside, another with a message on the outside, and one I want to hammer the finished product, a plain sterling silver ring, to give it texture. I also want to play with thread and wire. Maybe make a pendant for a necklace. A message in Morse code. We can also use organic things as molds, like a leaf or an acorn. I’ll see what other goodies I have stashed in my craft box.

Yay!

3 comments
  1. Tiff said:

    simply awesome!!!!

  2. jules said:

    sounds like so much fun! can’t wait to see what your crafty hands will create in the days to come :)

    • Anna said:

      Will post follow-up entry soon!

Leave a Reply

