I Like Cheese

Last month, my housemate and I were stocking up on food for the week at Safeway. We were in the chips/cookies/crackers aisle when I spotted one of those jars of nacho cheese for some ridiculous price, to me that means $4-5. Ya know what $5 can buy?! More than a jar of cheese that I wouldn’t have finished. So! I found a recipe online that I tweaked a bit to work with what I had on hand. :)

Nacho Cheese Ingredients

Ingredients
1ยฝ tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon corn starch
ยฝ cup whole milk
1 ounce whipped cream cheese with chives
1 cup shredded cheese
1 tablespoon paprika
1/2 tablespoon cayenne pepper
1/2 tablespoon chili powder

Directions
1. Melt better on medium heat, then stir in the corn starch.
2. Add the milk, followed by the cream cheese.
3. Whisk until everything is melted and smooth.
4. Add cheese and whisk until melted.
5. Finally whisk in your spices!

I pretty much measured everything by eye. Just go by what you like! More milk for a thinner sauce and more cheese for a thicker sauce. My first attempt was a super late night snack; it was on the smaller side.

Topped with a dollop of sour cream.

You can add whatever else floats your nacho craving. My second batch I topped with some ground beef.

Original recipe from cooklikeyourgrandmother.com

3 comments
  1. jules said:

    anna you are a genius!! my boyfriend has been looking for a recipe like this for a long time, after giving up trying to find a reasonably priced jar in the supermarkets — mind if i share this with him? he’ll be thrilled :D

    • Anna said:

      Haha share away! Spread the cheesy goodness. :)
      You should check the original recipe if you haven’t already, gives a bit more information.

  2. Tiff said:

    i loveeee cheese!

Leave a Reply

